Friendship… wrote a song about it, like to hear it? Here it go….

(Day 6 of 100)

Whew! Only 94 to go! *rolls her eyes*

So…. I want to talk a moment about friends. People that you want and people that you don’t.

I don’t know about you, but I like people who not only are honest with you about their feelings, but who also don’t get butt hurt when you tell them yours. Today I discovered that, once again, because I did not cow down to someone else’s personal opinion in the way that they wanted I was un-followed and un-friended. Honestly, it’s okay, because as much as I extended a hand to a friendship we remained acquaintances. So… I suppose, not a major loss. Especially that kind of behavior is not one you want in a friend. Someone who will leave you the moment you don’t do things their way.

It’s okay, because I have plenty of friends who value my opinion even if they do not agree with it. Just like I value theirs. They also understand my point instead of focusing on their initial judgement of my opinion. Just like I like to try to do with theirs. They don’t point their fingers at me and call me a hypocrite… especially when they are fully aware that it would make them a hypocrite in the process.

Let’s show an example. I have a friend. He is a great guy. Super intelligent. Owns several of his own businesses. Puts young people who have lost their way to work, helps them with housing, helps them get a leg up. He is also a bit of a drama llama. And he knows it and he is working on it.

I’ve called him out on it in private. I’ve also call him out on it in public… in front of a lot of people. He goes… he sulks for a while and then he is fine. Why? Because he is a smart man. Because he knows unlike his fair weather friends… I am there no matter what. Even if he is being a complete ass. And because I care about him I’m gonna call it like I see it when I see it. Because I know… that he is a great guy. (Granted, normally I wouldn’t do it in front of a bunch of people, but some things need to be nipped in the bud before they have a chance to get started…. again….. 2 year old drama doesn’t need to come back. Sheesh)

When I ask “does this make my butt look big?” I want a straight answer! A good friend would never let their friend go out looking a way they don’t want to look.

I guess I just don’t understand a lot of these Yakima folk, even though I grew up here. Honestly… even growing up here I didn’t understand them. None of my HS friends in OR behaved this way either. My friends in Seattle don’t act this way. *insert sad face here*

So point: DON’T keep people in your life who lie to you just to make you feel better or to make you feel superior. DO keep people in your life that are honest with you, no matter what, and respect your opinion, even if they don’t agree with it or it hurts their feelers.

Get it? Got it? Good. Now go have good relationships!

Cram your thoughts down my throat. It makes me happy.... come on... just do it!

