God loves Starbucks….

Hey guys….

So apparently a bunch of “Christians” are all up in arms about the new Starbucks cup. Now, personally, I do not care for Starbucks coffee. The flavor of their beans and my tastebuds do not dance well together. Not to mention that I used to be a barista when I was young and all your fancy words for ordering coffee are just kind of….. how can I put this…. unnecessary. It’s like you’re trying to be super fancy… when you are just coffee. But I digress… back to the cup.

I’m a Christian… and I like the cup. I think it is delightful and simply. It makes my eyes happy to look at. That being said…. If you describe yourself as a Christian and your whole world is knocked off kilter by a cup design…. I say to you, friend, you are NOT a Christian. Jesus doesn’t give two shits about a cup design. What he does care about is whether or not you are connecting with your fellow man. He cares about whether or not you are walking around being his hands and his feet and making a difference in the world by sharing your story of how he has enriched your life with others  by your actions. Instead of bitching about the cup… maybe you should go fill that cup with coffee and buy a scone, and go give it to the cold and hungry homeless person on the corner. While you are at it… maybe give him/her your coat if they need one. Next you should head on down to the shelter or the soup kitchen and see what you can do there to show God’s love and give hope to those who desperately need it. In my view…. that would be a much better way to show your “Christianity” to the world.

If your Christmas is so threatened by a cup design……. maybe you need to take a look at your Christianity. Instead of focusing on cups… maybe you should focus a little more on Jesus. Maybe you should focus a little more on connection instead of segregation. You scream and yell and get all excited about “the meaning of Christmas,” except that you very obviously have no idea what the meaning of Christmas actually is.

You obviously don't know Jesus.

You obviously don’t know Jesus.

Just saying.

9 thoughts on “God loves Starbucks….

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I agree. People get so upset over nothing these days. Well said about reviewing their own Christianity! 🙂 -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

  2. fictionalkevin says:

    I liked this. One of the ways to grow a following is to create a controversy out of nothing. Possibly that is the case here? Possibly someone needed something to get people excited about to grow their own profile and advance their own agenda?

    Now the dialog has morphed into outrage over the outrage. Maybe that’s part of the agenda too.

    Thanks for posting this.

  3. Ellen Hawley says:

    I’m not a Christian, but you’re giving me a better impression of them than the people who worry about coffee cups.

  4. I keep nodding my head in agreement. The only two cups that matter to me are the Chalice and the one that runneth over.

  5. I’m with ya on both counts here. Starbucks sucks, and their pretentiousness is over the top, and the over sensitive religious nuts are just as bad!

  6. I would have to agree. What organized religion needs is some calmness and acceptance. I don’t do organized religion at all; I just have my spirituality and it takes up enough of me to go round.
    Well said, my friend.
    I don’t even know what the new cup looks like. Will have to search it out, I guess, from curiosity.
    Scott

  7. I am a Christian. I don’t patronize Starbucks. It has nothing to do with with a silly cup. I like cheaper and homey atmosphere coffee shops.

Cram your thoughts down my throat. It makes me happy.... come on... just do it!

