I am Grumpy

Stress-Reduction-Kit

I didn’t sleep well last night. I’m sure that has much to do with it. And so when I think about the things that are on my mind at the moment I am sure that they lack of sleep is not helping the grump factor.

At 2:30am this morning, I was suddenly and without any reason that was apparent to me wide awake. I did not feel anything negative towards this predicament. My bed was warm, I was covered in animals, my partner snoring softly and soundly beside me. I lay there for a while enjoy the comfiness and I felt happy and blessed.

I picked up my phone to see what time it was. I had received a photo from my son (who’s birthday it is today) of his new bed that we procured him as a Christmas/Birthday present. He is very pleased. I wished him a happy birthday. My beautiful baby boy of 26 years of age.

An hour later (3:30am) I cannot find a comfortable position. My mind is unable to shut off. The animals are now on my nerves because they are all in my way. I get up. One dog needs to pee. Spends 10 minutes outside wandering around leisurely sniffing things until I lose patience and call her to come in. I put the dogs in their beds, and throw the cat in the hall.

Still cannot get comfortable.

I do not wish to wake the partner, so I go upstairs to the guest room with my pillow and blanket. I’m comfortable for the most part, but I still cannot sleep.

When my alarm goes of 2 hours later I get up and get into the shower. I’ve spent the last hour thinking about selfish people. Not anyone in particular. We are all a little selfish. More than anything I am thinking about why kids don’t play in the snow anymore. Where are all the fricken snowmen? You go by the park and the snow is untouched. UNTOUCHED!!! Does this generation not realize the opportunity for snowman apocalypse and snow villages we have right now? So much wasted snow.

Also… all these people I see on this “Yakima Side Jobs” Facebook page. These people are looking for work, begging for a job… and yet, they don’t want to work when offered one. They can’t pass a drug test or don’t have less than 3 marks on their driving record. They don’t know how to fill out an application or create a resume. They are begging for a job on a Facebook page.

And what happened to the kid that used to wander down the street that would shovel your driveway and walkway for $20? They are gone. Old retired people who can’t do it themselves are trapped and can’t afford to pay a company to come do it. Anyone who is walking down the street offering the service thinks they should get the same rate of pay as a licensed and bonded company that has proper equipment. This is akin to those burger flippers who think they should make $15 an hour doing a startup job that is designed for kids who are just entering the work force. You want to make a career out of it? Work your way into management and then you can get paid accordingly.

And on the snow shoveling rant…. today I may be shoveling an nice old lady’s driveway on my lunch hour. Why? Because she has no one to do it for her. I hope her neighbors see me and feel like crap. Yes. I wish that upon them. I truly do. What the hell is wrong with the world? I asked my FB friends if anyone wanted to help. I got 2 responses. One from my bestie who is disabled and should not be doing that kind of thing, but would anyway just because she’s a giver like that, and one from a friend who can’t help because she is on the other side of the mountains. But I know she would help were she here.

I feel disheartened with humanity. The closer I look at it…. the sadder I feel. I’m not perfect by any means. But…. it becomes more and more true that you can tell the quality of a person by how they treat people who can do nothing for them. And the quality of humanity is sorely lacking. Don’t people realize that the more you do for others the better you feel? Especially if you are truly giving of yourself (i.e. without expectation or the “what’s in it for me?” attitude.)

Good job Yakima. Good job. *sigh* End rant.

If you feel disheartened with the world around you… I put this thought out…. Ghandi once said “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

I’m off to work. Have a great day America.

One thought on “I am Grumpy

  1. Richard says:

    I agree. this world is not what it once was.

Cram your thoughts down my throat. It makes me happy.... come on... just do it!

